Reporting on a Diverse Class Inducted into the Hall of Fame in Cooperstown

From left: Jeff Idelson, Jeff Bagwell, Jane Forbes Clark, and Rob Manfred at the Hall of Fame in Cooperstown, NY. Photo by Reynaldo Cruz, UB
liam sweeney 2017 cube
gop cube 2017
chris barnes 2017 cube
Watkinson ad 1 2017

Editor’s note: Reynaldo Cruz has been staying in West Hartford this summer through an arrangement sponsored by Teen Cultures Connect. He is a resident of Holguin, Cuba, where he is the editor of the digital news site Revista Universo Béisbol, and has been writing about his experiences, including the opportunity to attend the Hall of Fame induction ceremony in Cooperstown, NY.

By Reynaldo Cruz, [email protected]

Around 27,500 people showed up in Cooperstown, NY, last Sunday to welcome the latest Baseball Hall of Fame inductees: former MLB Commissioner Alan H. “Bud” Selig, long-time executive for the Kansas City Royals and the Atlanta Braves John Schuerholz, All-Star outfielder Tim “Rock” Raines, All-Star catcher Iván “Pudge” Rodríguez, and All-Star first baseman Jeff Bagwell, a former student at the University of Hartford in West Hartford.

Also honored were Claire Smith of ESPN, who received the J. G. Taylor Spink Award, Rachel Robinson, who received the Buck O’Neil Lifetime Achievement Award, and Bill King, who was honored posthumously with the Ford C. Frick Award.

The entire story – available in Spanish as well as in English – can be read on Revista Universo Béisbol by clicking here.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
jcc nathan englander ad
kaoud cube
jcc gene machine cube
ct forum laughter ad
Geico cube david johnson 2017
Jeff Brand State Farm 2017 cube
klaus larsen cube ad
adventure with God

About the author

We-Ha is the place to go for the latest information about West Hartford – a town that "has it all"! is part of and proud of our community, and we bring a hyperlocal focus to news and features about the people, schools, businesses, real estate, sports, restaurants, charitable events, arts, and more. Contact us at: [email protected] or [email protected]

Leave a Comment

shari cantor mobile
ryan langan mobile
beth kerrigan mobile 2017
mary fay mobile
liam sweeney mobile
davidoff mobile ad
ethel walker mobile
kaoud leaderboard
state farm leaderboard
keating leaderboard ad
French Cleaners Mobile ad
jp carrol mobile ad