Business Features People

’40 Under Forty’ Honors Include Nine from West Hartford

Betsey Castle Gainey is one of the 2014 '40 Under Forty." Submitted image.

The annual list of outstanding young professionals in the Greater Hartford area was published in the most recent edition of the Hartford Business Journal.

By Ronni Newton

Nine individuals who either live or work in West Hartford will be among those honored at the Connecticut Convention Center on Sept. 22, 2014, when the Hartford Business Journal presents its 18th annual “40 Under Forty” awards.

Each year 40 young professionals from throughout the Greater Hartford area are given the award, and honored at a gala presented by the Hartford Business Journal that is attended by hundreds of other “movers and shakers.” An independent panel of judges, all of whom are previous “4o Under Forty” honorees, selects the winners.

“This year’s honorees were chosen from more than 100 nominations, and exemplify what it means to be leaders in both their careers and communities” said Joe Zwiebel, founding publisher of the Hartford Business Journal, in a news release. “We are so pleased to celebrate this group of young business leaders whose professional accomplishments have contributed so much to the Greater Hartford area, and we wish them continued success.”

Betsey Gainey (West Hartford Resident; Works in Glastonbury as vice president and director of client services for Cronin & Company)

Lindsay Ryan Jensen (Hartford Resident; Works as managing partner with Ryan Marketing in West Hartford)

Garrett Kenny (Newington Resident; Works in Berlin and West Hartford as owner/operator of Garrett’s Barbershop and Founders Pomade)

Kimberly Margolis (West Hartford Resident; Works in West Hartford as director of development at the Mandell Jewish Community Center)

Peter J. Murphy (West Hartford Resident; Works in Hartford as an employment attorney at Shipman & Goodwin)

Brian Rich (West Hartford Resident; Works in Hartford as attorney/partner at Halloran & Sage LLP)

Jarrett Solomon (West Hartford Resident; Works as director of Connecticut Wealth Management LLC in Farmington)

Erica Ann Thompson (West Hartford Resident; Works in Hartford as associate minister at Asylum Hill Congregational Church – United Church of Christ)

Christopher R. Zito (North Haven Resident; Works as assistant professor of biology at the University of Saint Joseph in West Hartford)

In addition to the nine honorees with ties to West Hartford, others to receive the award include:

McKinley Albert (Avon Resident; Works in Hartford)
Keshia Ashe (Newington Resident; Works in Hartford)
Jill Buban (Woodbury Resident; Works in Waterbury)
Stephen Carrabba (Wethersfield Resident; Works in Bloomfield)
Leticia Colon de Mejias (Windsor Resident; Works in Windsor)
Erin Concepcion (Hartford Resident; Works in Simsbury)
Molly Devanney (Manchester Resident; Works in Manchester)
Jennifer Fiereck (Manchester Resident; Works in Manchester)
Martin Gugliotti (Plainville Resident; Works in Hartford/Rocky Hill, Wethersfield/Plainville)
Bryan Hall, II (Hartford County Resident; Works in Norwich)
Ben Howarth (Griswold Resident; Works in Glastonbury)
AJ Johnson (Hartford Resident; Works in Hartford)
Vincenzo Landino (Wallingford Resident; Works remotely)
Heather Loranger (Glastonbury Resident; Works in Glastonbury)
Ashley Maagero (Farmington Resident; Works in Hartford)
Lindsey Matthieu (Norwich Resident; Works in Norwich)
Tracey McKaveney (Rocky Hill Resident; Works in Glastonbury)
Ryan McKeen (East Granby Resident; Works in Glastonbury)
Adam McLaughlin (South Windsor Resident; Works in Hartford)
Scott Miller (South Glastonbury Resident; Works in Hartford)
Alison Morris (Hartford Resident; Works in Hartford)
Kristina Newman-Scott (Hartford Resident; Works in Hartford)
Brandon Ojakian (Cheshire Resident; Works in New Haven)
Michelle Pandolfi (Newington Resident; Works in Wethersfield)
Erin Pirro (West Granby Resident; Works in Enfield)
Ken Procino (Milford Resident; Works in North Haven)
Steven Raider-Ginsburg (New Haven Resident; Works in Hartford)
Matthew Ritter (Hartford Resident; Works in Hartford)
Robert Ruffolo (Wallingford Resident; Works in Wallingford)
Zachary Schwartz (Longmeadow Resident; Works in Manchester)
Jason Warnke (Avon Resident; Works in Farmington)  
Tim Yergeau (Hartford Resident; Works in Hartford)
Jennifer Young (Plantsville Resident; Works in Southington)


This year there are actually 42 – rather than 40 – recipients of “40 Under Forty” honors. According to the Hartford Business Journal’s website, several of this year’s nominees, and two of those selected as winners, will turn 40 prior to the end of 2014. According to the Hartford Business Journal, the judges were not aware that turning 40 at any point during the year would make those nominees ineligible. According to www.hartfordbusiness.com, “This left us with a list of winners, some of whom would have been ineligible in previous years and were pushing out other nominees who would have won had HBJ stuck with its age criteria. Rather than punishing either group for our mistake, however, we decided to honor both.”

Admission to the “40 Under Forty” event is $85/ticket and $850 for a table of 10 ($95/$950 after Sept. 17.)  To register or for more information, contact Amy Orsini at 860.236.9998, or register online at www.hartfordbusiness.com.

For more information about the winners, visit www.hartfordbusiness.com.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

About the author


We-Ha.com is the place to go for the latest information about West Hartford – a town that "has it all"! We-Ha.com is part of and proud of our community, and we bring a hyperlocal focus to news and features about the people, schools, businesses, real estate, sports, restaurants, charitable events, arts, and more. Contact us at: [email protected] or [email protected].

Leave a Comment

Translate »