West Hartford Students Honored at Connecticut Middle School Scholar-Leaders Awards Banquet

Camille Bartus and Graham Woodward from King Philip Middle School with art teacher Eina Rieger and French and Spanish Teacher Nancy Barlow. Courtesy photo

Students from West Hartford’s three public middle schools were honored at the banquet.

From left: Ashley Kneidel (Spanish teacher), Lucy Vargas (student), Sophie Barnes (student), Tracy Bennett (science teacher), Meghan Zingle (assistant principal). Courtesy photo

By Ronni Newton

Students from each public middle school in the state were honored at the 2023 Connecticut Middle School Scholar-Leaders Awards Banquet held June 5 at the Aqua Turf in Southington.

Each school can choose a maximum of two students to receive the award, and according to the Connecticut Association of Schools (CAS) there were 108 schools represented and more than 1,000 people at the event. Each student is able to invite a teacher who had the biggest impact on them to attend, and students attended with their parents or guardians and school leadership as well.

“Congratulations to this year’s KP CT Association of Schools recipients Camille Bartus and Graham Woodward,” King Philip Middle School Principal Joy Wright said in an announcement.

Camille Bartus and Graham Woodward from King Philip Middle School. Courtesy photo

“Camille and Graham were selected for meeting the criteria for distinguishing themselves in scholarship and leadership in school and community. They met the academic standard established by CAS of a cumulative middle school average of at least 85% or “B” or 3.0 on a 4-point. They also met the leadership criteria for being active participants in school and community organizations, citizenship, a positive influence on school climate, dependability, responsibility, character, and integrity,” Wright said.

According to Wright, the students invited art Eina Rieger and French/Spanish teacher Nancy Barlow to be “part of the cheer team,” joining in the celebration.

Sofia Wargo from Sedgwick Middle School. Courtesy photo

Cameron Robinson from Sedgwick Middle School. Courtesy photo

From Bristow, Lucille Vargas and Sophie Barnes were honored as scholar-leaders, while Sofia Wargo and Cameron Robinson represented Sedgwick.

Lucy Vargas (left) and Sophie Barnes of Bristow Middle School. Courtesy photo

Like what you see here? Click here to subscribe to We-Ha’s newsletter so you’ll always be in the know about what’s happening in West Hartford! Click the blue button below to become a supporter of We-Ha.com and our efforts to continue producing quality journalism.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

About the author


We-Ha.com is the place to go for the latest information about West Hartford – a town that "has it all"! We-Ha.com is part of and proud of our community, and we bring a hyperlocal focus to news and features about the people, schools, businesses, real estate, sports, restaurants, charitable events, arts, and more. Contact us at: [email protected] or [email protected].

Leave a Comment

Translate »