Lifestyle Schools Sports

Golfers Enjoy 2023 Bob McKee Classic Tournament

Chris Glowacki '84, Jake Jednorowicz, Ted Jednorowicz, Emmy Jednorowicz '12. Courtesy photo
The 2023 Bob McKee Classic, which benefits the football program at West Hartford’s Conard High School, was held on Aug. 12, 2023 at Simsbury Farms.

Paul Halladay ’75 with former head coach Rob Cersosimo (1984-13). Courtesy photo

By Ronni Newton

Conard High School football alumni, and current and former coaches, were among those who hit the links at Simsbury Farms on Aug. 12, 2023, for the Eighth Annual Bob McKee Classic, a golf tournament held to honor the former coach and namesake of Conard’s Robert McKee Stadium.

McKee, who died at age 95 in December 2017, launched the football program at Conard when the school opened in 1957, and was head coach until his retirement in 1983. McKee was succeeded as Conard’s head coach by his son-in-law, Rob Cersosimo, who was succeed by his son and current head coach, Matt Cersosimo in 2014.

The annual tournament began in 2014, but was not held due to COVID-19 in 2020, and remained on hiatus in 2021.

Liz Stich, Jim Giarnese, Bob Stich ’69, Brendan Stich. Courtesy photo

Tournament Winners

Low Net Winner:
Bob Stich, Class of 1969
Liz Stich
Brendan Stich
Jim Giarnese

Low Gross Winner:
Jonathan Esposito, Class of 2011
Brady Collins, Class of 2010
Matt Chorches, Class of 2018
Archie Sullivan, Class of 2011<

Closest To The Pin:
Marco Pizzoferrato, Class of 1992 (35 inches)<

Longest Drive:

  • Female Winner: Emmy Jednorowicz, Class of 2012
  • Male Winner: Jake Jednorowicz

Lou Vamvakas, Kyle Egress, Ken Mangini, Guy Giantonio. Courtesy photo

Brady Collins ’10, Archie Sullivan ’11, Jonathan Esposito ’11, Matt Chorches ’18. Courtesy photo

Michael Coones ’08, Austin Cavello ’08, Ian Morander, Michael Morander. Courtesy photo

Jimmy Bennett, Devon Pencz ’16, Ron Wziontko, Andrew Rosa. Courtesy photo

Tim Cimini ’08, Brendan Frobel ’01, Conor Tracy ’96, Max Pace ’08. Courtesy photo

Bryan Tamaccio ’91, Tim Walsh ’96, Lewis Tamaccio ’96, Scott Gainey ’85. Courtesy photo

Jim Adams ’80, Phil & Paul Durosko, Ryan Kennedy. Courtesy photo

Dr. Doug MacGilpin (1978-16), James MacGilpin ’98, Chris Smith ’00, Bill Condon ’77. Courtesy photo

Carl Johnson ’99, John Hanley ’66, Jerry Gray, Brian Berry, Alex Borre. Courtesy photo

Marco Pizzoferrato ’92 (second from left) with playing partners. Courtesy photo

Walker Disque ’22, Declan McCann ’23, Drew Hill ’23, Griffin O’Connell ’22. Courtesy photo

Michael Campitelli ’09, Holly Brady, Mike McCarthy, James Redman ’08. Courtesy photo

Jack Kennedy ’22 and Peter Langevin ’22 with playing partners. Courtesy photo

Ron Morander ’80, Eric Morander ’87, Seth Parker, Larry Lambert. Courtesy photo

Mary Whitten, Justin Crawford ’99, former head coach Rob Cersosimo (1984-13), Nelson Ward ’98, Rob Whitten. Courtesy photo

Conard assistant coaches, and volunteers John Quaglia and Tim Feshler. Courtesy photo

Like what you see here? Click here to subscribe to We-Ha’s newsletter so you’ll always be in the know about what’s happening in West Hartford! Click the blue button below to become a supporter of We-Ha.com and our efforts to continue producing quality journalism.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

About the author


We-Ha.com is the place to go for the latest information about West Hartford – a town that "has it all"! We-Ha.com is part of and proud of our community, and we bring a hyperlocal focus to news and features about the people, schools, businesses, real estate, sports, restaurants, charitable events, arts, and more. Contact us at: [email protected] or [email protected].

Leave a Comment

Translate »