Conard High School Announces National Merit Scholar Semifinalists

National Merit Scholar Semifinalists at Conard High School include (from left): Arjun Jagjivan, Ganesh Petterson, and Matthew Vitelli. Not pictured: Ava DeLaCruz. Submitted photo

Four students from West Hartford’s Conard High School have been named National Merit Scholar Semifinalists.

Submitted by Marisa Barry, Student Activities Coordinator, Conard High School

Conard High School is proud to recognize Ava DeLaCruz, Arjun Jagjivan, Ganesh Petterson, and Matthew Vitelli as Semifinalists in the 2019 National Merit Scholarship Program. 

Over 1.6 million students in more than 22,000 high schools across the country entered the 2019 National Merit Scholarship Program by taking the 2017 PSAT (Preliminary Scholastic Aptitude Test), also known as NMSQT (National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test). The pool of Semifinalists is comprised of less than 1 percent of U.S. high school seniors. The 16,000 Semifinalists in this year’s National Merit Scholarship Program will now compete to become a Merit Scholar.

This spring the National Merit Scholarship Program will announce which college-bound students will receive a portion of its $31 million scholarship fund, money provided by hundreds of businesses and universities who share NMSC’s goals of recognizing the nation’s most academically accomplished.

Like what you see here? Click here to subscribe to We-Ha’s newsletter so you’ll always be in the know about what’s happening in West Hartford!

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

About the author


We-Ha.com is the place to go for the latest information about West Hartford – a town that "has it all"! We-Ha.com is part of and proud of our community, and we bring a hyperlocal focus to news and features about the people, schools, businesses, real estate, sports, restaurants, charitable events, arts, and more. Contact us at: [email protected] or [email protected]

Leave a Comment

Translate »