West Hartford’s Joe Verrengia to Chair Public Safety and Security Committee, Other Chairs Named

Rep. Joe Verrengia (we-ha.com file photo)

State Rep. Joe Verrengia of West Hartford (D-20th District) has been reappointed as chair of the Public Safety and Security Committee.

By Ronni Newton

Speaker of the House Joe Aresimowicz (D-Berlin/Southington) and House Majority Leader Matt Ritter (D-Hartford) announced the House Democratic leadership team on Thursday, and the list includes incumbent 20th District State Rep. Joe Verrengia of West Hartford, who has been reappointed as chair of the Public Safety and Security Committee for the 2019 Legislative Session which begins Jan. 9.

“I am honored to have been reappointed to serve as Chair of the Public Safety and Security Committee,” Verrengia said in a statement. “Last session was very busy for this committee and this session will be no different. I am ready to take on the challenges ahead and thank Speaker Aresimowicz for once again giving me the opportunity to chair this important committee.”

Verrengia is a retired West Hartford Police officer, and Aresimowicz noted that his background in law enforcement has been a great asset to his leadership of the committee.

The Public Safety and Security Committee has cognizance of all matters relating to the Department of Emergency Services and Public Protection, and civil preparedness and homeland security, state police, the state-wide organized crime investigative task force, municipal police training, fire marshals, the fire safety code, the state building code, and legalized gambling.

“We will be working on many important issues this session under the jurisdiction of Public Safety and I know Joe will continue to effectively lead this committee,” Aresimowicz said in a statement.

Verrengia also serves on the Executive and Legislative Nominations committees.

House Democrats have increased their margin to 92-59 over the Republican minority for the upcoming session, up for 80-71 in the previous session.

“This is a great time of opportunity for our state, and the leadership team we have put together is committed to working to develop policies that help improve the quality of life for everyone in our state,” Aresimowicz said in a statement. “House Democrats represent diverse communities from all corners of our state, and with more than a quarter of our members entering their first term in the legislature we have a great combination of fresh faces to go along with the experience necessary to make positive change.”

Eleven of the 27 committees will have new leadership in the upcoming session.

“Like the speaker, I am very excited to begin the 2019 legislative session and our committee assignments reflect the diverse make up of our 92 members,” said Ritter in a statement. “I look forward to working with all of the new chairs and ranking members on a variety of issues to continue to move our state forward.”

For a complete list of House Democrat committee chairs and members for the 2019-2020 session, click here.

Like what you see here? Click here to subscribe to We-Ha’s newsletter so you’ll always be in the know about what’s happening in West Hartford!

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

About the author


We-Ha.com is the place to go for the latest information about West Hartford – a town that "has it all"! We-Ha.com is part of and proud of our community, and we bring a hyperlocal focus to news and features about the people, schools, businesses, real estate, sports, restaurants, charitable events, arts, and more. Contact us at: [email protected] or [email protected].

Leave a Comment

Translate »