Elections Government Politics

Special Election in 5th District Set for February 26th

Gov. Ned Lamont has announced the date of special elections to fill vacant seats in the Connecticut General Assembly.

By Ronni Newton

A special election will be held in West Hartford on Feb. 26, to elect a new state senator to fill the vacancy created by the resignation of Beth Bye.

On Friday, Gov. Ned Lamont issued a proclamation announcing the date of the special election for the 5th District of the State Senate, which includes all of West Hartford and Burlington, as well as parts of Farmington and Bloomfield.

Under state law, the governor is required to issue a writ of special election within ten days of a vacancy in the General Assembly and a special election must be held exactly 46 days after the date that the writ was issued. Gov. Lamont issued writs for each of the five vacancies today,” a press release from the governor’s office states.

A copy of the proclamation can be found in PDF version below.

Estimated costs for holding a special election have not yet been determined.

State Rep. Derek Slap of West Hartford (D-19th) has announced his plans to pursue the 5th District seat, and has received multiple endorsements. Several other Democrats – West Hartford Deputy Mayor Beth Kerrigan and Farmington Democratic Town Committee Chair Michael Daly – have also announced their bids for the seat.

On the Republican side, Bill Wadsworth of Farmington has also indicated plans to run.

Nominating conventions must take place “not later than the 36th day before the special election,” according to a spokesperson from the Secretary of State’s office.

In addition to the special election to fill Bye’s seat, there will be special elections in the following districts:

  • 3rd District of the State Senate, consisting of the entirety of East Hartford, East Windsor, and South Windsor, and portions of Ellington;
  • 6th District of the State Senate, consisting of the entirety of Berlin and New Britain, and portions of Farmington;
  • 39th District of the State House of Representatives, consisting of portions of New London; and
  • 99th District of the State House of Representatives, consisting of portions of East Haven.

All five legislators – Bye, Sen. Tim Larson, Sen. Terry Gerratana, Rep. Chris Soto, and Rep. James Albis – won election to two-year terms, but chose not to be sworn into office when the new legislative session began on Jan. 9.

Like what you see here? Click here to subscribe to We-Ha’s newsletter so you’ll always be in the know about what’s happening in West Hartford!

Loader Loading...
EAD Logo Taking too long?

Reload Reload document
| Open Open in new tab
Print Friendly, PDF & Email

About the author


We-Ha.com is the place to go for the latest information about West Hartford – a town that "has it all"! We-Ha.com is part of and proud of our community, and we bring a hyperlocal focus to news and features about the people, schools, businesses, real estate, sports, restaurants, charitable events, arts, and more. Contact us at: [email protected] or [email protected].

Leave a Comment

Translate »